Birdwatching

I really, REALLY miss watching and photographing the hummingbirds we hosted last summer while living in Missouri. The hummers were so inquisitive, not afraid to fly near you, and were a very relaxing means of unwinding from the day’s troubles.

Unfortunately, I’ve not had any luck luring the hummers to our home in Mobile. So I’ve resorted to another birdwatching pastime by hanging seed bird feeders near the back door.  After trying unsuccessfully to sit and wait (with camera in hand) on the beautiful cardinals, finches, blue jays and doves to come and feed, I finally gave up on trying to capture these magnificent creatures…they just would not come close while I was in their space.

A couple of weeks ago it dawned on me to use my radio trigger and tripod to shoot the birds…that way I could remain inside near a window to observe, but not spook them from feeding. It’s been a hit or miss adventure so far, but this weekend I was able to get in a few shots.  Hopefully as the birds grow more accustomed to the camera near the feeders, they will become less fearful and I will be able to capture more of their antics.  Stay tuned!

Birdwatching- Birdwatching--4 Birdwatching--8 Birdwatching--7 Birdwatching--6 Birdwatching-2310

Leave a comment